Agnostic=Lazy Atheist

Christianity for Modern PagansWith a long list of books to read before I die, I am loathe to read a book twice, the bible being the obvious exception–that one is forever new in an old way. I have, however, come across a book that once I read it I found myself returning to it periodically to re-hash some juicy nugget of thought or inspiration. The book is called Christianity for Modern Pagans. Catchy title and I rather like the use of the word “pagan”. It has a certain j’ne sais quoi. The book, written by Peter Kreeft organizes and categorizes many of Blaise Pascal’s Pensees into a volume to explain to the modern pagan what it means to believe in God and why it is logical to do so. (In his short life, Pascal made vast contributions to mathematics, physics, as well as the Christian faith. Maybe a book on his life should be added to my ever growing stack.)
Much to the annoyance of an agnostic near and dear to my heart, I have referred to his ilk as “lazy atheists”. I envision the typical agnostic throwing his hands up in defeat in a brief effort to sort out whether or not the universe and all that it contains was created ex nihilo or whether in fact there is a self-existent being who designed, created, and still operates in this world. Rather than persevering through honest toil and study to prove one way or another they sit back and relax propped up on the notion that it can’t be known so they resign themselves to blissful ignorance.  (I realize that is a harsh characterization but hyperbole has its place when eternity is on the line.)
In Christianity for Modern Pagans (1966), Kreeft devotes a chapter to this laissez-faire approach to reality that he calls “Indifference”, much to my delight.  He shines a spot light (thank you Charlie) on the insidiousness of indifference because “…all young and healthy nations, eras, cultures and individuals are simple, strong and passionate–never bland, indifferent and relativistic.”[Kreeft]

Here are two snippets of Pascal’s thinking:
I do not know who put me into the world [this is the pagan talking], not what the world is, not what I am myself. I am terribly ignorant about everything. I do not know what my body is, or my senses, or my soul, or even that part of me which thinks about itself, and does not know itself any better than it knows anything else…And my conclusion from all this is that I must pass my days without a thought of seeking what is to happen to me. Perhaps I might find some enlightenment in my doubts, but I do not want to take the trouble, nor take a step to look for it; and afterwards, as I sneer at those who are striving to this end, I will go without fear or foresight to face so momentous an event, and allow myself to be carried off limply to my death, uncertain of my future state for all eternity.
Pascal responds: Who would wish to have as his friend a man who argued like that? Who would choose him from among others as a confidant in his affairs? Who would resort to him in adversity? To what use in life could he possibly be turned?
How sane is it to not even try to sort out the origins of the universe, the nature of humanity, and implications of Truth. So I am sticking with “lazy atheists” because the agnostic and atheist live in this world the same way and will meet the same end.

*Stay tuned for discussions on The Hidden God and The Wager.

Leave a comment