Doina…music for Ecclesiates

Moshlo

I just finished reading a book by Cass Moriarty called Parting Words.  The premise of the book is that a father dies leaving behind letters for his children to deliver to various people in his past.  In that process they learn things about their father that they never knew and by extension, things about themselves.  Interesting idea, I just wish it had been more substantial rather than relying upon overused moral dilemmas.  Anyway, I don’t need to give away the plot.  The point of bringing it up is that at the end of the book, Ms. Moriarty mentions that one of the characters in the book is modeled after Moshlo, a Polish born/Australian emigre violinist.  Toward the end of his life he investigated and adapted to the violin a style of music from Romania called doina.

I decided to google this style of music and this is what I found.  Have a listen:

As I sat listening to his mournful performance, it dawned on me, that this is the music of the book of Ecclesiastes!  They go together as if designed for one another.  But isn’t that the way God works.

The Lord will save me,
    and we will play my music on stringed instruments
all the days of our lives,
    at the house of the Lord

Isaiah 38:20

Leave a comment