Let Them Bake Cakes

wedding cake

Don’t you cringe when trying to think and act like Jesus brings you up short and makes you look at things from a whole new perspective? I hate it when that happens. My sensibilities are turned upside down but, then again, isn’t that what Christ and his teachings are supposed to do to us? It is very uncomfortable and I can’t really judge my own success—it’s not about me after all.
So the story goes like this. Joel Belz, from World Magazine, threw down the gauntlet to us readers to come up with a way to winsomely but directly address the issue of baking cakes and taking pictures for same-sex weddings. He wanted responses to his challenge to dare us to think like Jesus, to bring people up short and to elicit cries of blasphemy from the (self)righteous. I had toyed with some ideas but generally they failed in the area of winsomeness and neglected to challenge my notions of justice, right and wrong, yada, yada, yada, so I did not make an offering to the discussion the first time around. Then Mr. Belz came back this week with a forlorn plea to keep thinking because as of yet he had received nothing that fit the bill. So I thought about the issue backward. What would encourage those seeking a cake to think about what they were asking a Christian to do and what might cause believers to choke on their cries of blasphemy?
Here is what I sent in:
Jesus’ parables grab your attention, unleashing comments of “blasphemy” from the most righteous. So when approaching this scenario what would catch the attention of both the couple asking for the wedding cake but also bring cries of blasphemy from believers? It brought to mind the passage in “Little Men” when Professor Friedrich takes young Nat into the shed to receive what will presumably be his punishment for a wrong he had done. The usual punishment would be a couple of smacks on the hand with a ruler and Nat was prepared to receive them. The Professor could see the torment in the boy but then did something shocking, because he loved the boy. He took the punishment himself that young Nat deserved. Nat was undone by this sacrifice and it proved to be the impetus for him to give up his naughty ways. So maybe we, as Christians, need to consider assuming the punishment that others ought justly receive. In the case of the wedding cake for same sex couples, instead of charging them for the cake, we bake the cake accepting no payment. The point being that we will bake their cakes and take their pictures and we Christians will suffer the loss of doing so and refuse payment. This will catch everyone off guard. (I can hardly believe I am suggesting this, but there it is.)
In re-reading my remarks I can see where I assumed that the same-sex couple were not Christians–that is the rub but I must set that issue aside for now. It is not the focus of this blog and I think I would word it differently upon reflection. We will see what World has to say—most likely nothing, but it was a worthy endeavor nonetheless. Of course, I don’t bake cakes or take pictures for a living.

10 thoughts on “Let Them Bake Cakes

  1. If thinking like Jesus doesn’t continually turn us on our heads, we’ve got another think coming! To me ‘commitment’ — any ceremony exalting an honest desire to solely and exclusively bond to another — is a toe-hold for the Holy Spirit. Even as Peter couldn’t attain the ‘agape’ love that Jesus asked of him two times, the third time, Jesus came down to his level… to the only love Peter could honestly claim with any degree of confidence :: ‘phileo’. Like the ark, Jesus walks into sin carying with him the protection, love and compassion of the Holy Spirit… believers should do no less.

    Like

    1. I think I have lots of “thinks” coming. But I am not sure that i can agree that any sort of commitment can provide an in-road for the Holy Spirit when that commitment directly violates God’s plans for our holiness. The object of our commitment is very important and without Christ at its center it smacks of idolatry. Peter was asked does he love Christ and while Peter may not have understood the agape love that Christ was asking him to accept and do, he did understand to whom that love was directed. Directed anywhere else other than Christ is a whole other problem. I will keep thinking on how this all works.

      Like

      1. “Smacking of idolatry” is universal. Heterosexual couples marry out of lust, things fall apart and end in divorce… how often? It is the commitment between the two where the Holy Spirit can ONLY work. In the unmerited mercy of Christ, we ALL — at varying and relative degrees of imperfection — when we make that commitment to another, can move closer and closer to him. Demanding a perfect commitment slams the door of judgment on those — again, of varying and relative degrees of ability to attain to that perfection — who are at least moving in the right direction. Remember :: “mercy triumphs over judgment.”

        Like

      2. Why is it when someone suggests that a certain behavior is immoral they are labelled judgmental? Within the body of believers we are each other’s keeper and are commanded to hold each other accountable. Outside the body of believers, I do not think it is merciful to encourage someone who has committed to a relationship that is counter to what God has designed for humanity. Dedication is good when rightly directed and sinful when wrongly directed. Certainly some aspects of our lives affords a foothold for the Holy Spirit to work in our hearts to bring us to repentance. I am fully aware of the plank(s) in my own eye(s) so this side of heaven perfection is not possible–I couldn’t see it if it existed. But that is not a call to ignore sin and thereby eschew repentance. The Holy Spirit will work however he will, thankfully, and on whomever he will, as I am painfully aware.

        Like

      3. Well, here we fall into the trap of discussions centered around paradox. But let me also hasten to add a ‘seeming paradox’ since in Jesus, the opposing poles find their perfect ‘yes’ in Him… it’s just something denied to we human sinners who slip so easily to the left and to the right. It’s a pitfall when we try to use the stilted means of written communication where words (and their meaning) become translated by another. That’s not to say we shouldn’t try, since being able to clearly express one’s-self using words is, at the very least, good brain exercise. You are assuming that I am calling you judgmental (which I am not since I believe as you do that homosexuality is a sin) even as you seem to think that I am ‘encouraging’ sinful behaviour by being grateful for a commitment of fidelity between two people (even in the same sinful relationship). Kippie, I think we are both of like minds here and all I’m trying to do is seek out how I believe Jesus interacted with humanity during His short walk on earth. His ministry was a kind of ‘Venus flytrap’ to sinners who sensed the attraction which then gave Him the opportunity at the right time to communicate the healing light of truth. As such, we need to have that same initial attraction that a lamp provides so much more effectively than a spotlight. It IS a little devious, but He DOES call us to be ‘wary as a serpent but innocent as doves.’

        I do admire and encourage your commitment to the truth and I already believe you are a lamp to so many you come in contact with, so we certainly don’t need to be caught on the horns of this ‘seeming’ paradox. I also thank you for your initial post of being ‘turned on your head.’ It was a good word for me since, unless I come to come to grips daily with how my own thinking is upside down in relationship to Jesus (“Our ways are not God’s ways, neither are our thoughts God’s thoughts”), I lapse into a narcotic Spiritual complacency. Love you!

        Like

      4. Written communication has its challenges but I believe it a worthy endeavor to work through rather than avoid, hence why I started this blog. To use Francis Schaeffer verbage I think we are in agreement on the universals and in less agreement in particulars–yet another reason for this blog. A “Venus fly trap” visual is a good one–lure them in then pounce! 🙂

        Like

    1. I read the article you posted for a different take and can appreciate the need to go farther and love more as members of the body of Christ. The only problem with her suggestion is the lack of acknowledgement of the sinful nature that ALL of us possess and from which we need to repent. Our sins call for a righteous punishment that will be meted out by God Himself, just as parents punish children for wrong doing. We accrue a debt the size of which is so enormous that we are unable to pay but someone will–either Christ or us. I don’t know if my ramblings would work or not but it put a different twist to things in my mind. Thank you for passing the article along. The more we read the more we understand.

      Like

  2. Wish everyone could have heard Dr David Fischler’s sermon Sunday on how truth and love are inextricably linked. You can’t share one without the other. The study of Second John’s 13 verses are powerful to boldly exclaim that insisting on the Bible’s truth is loving. Words and action must go hand in hand. Love must stand on Jesus who is both Truth and Love.

    Like

Leave a comment